Oh, anxiety.

My two main sources of anxiety: the past and the future.

I tend to worry about things that have happened and that I’ve done, and things that I will possibly do or will possibly happen.

The world gives us so much freaking anxiety sometimes. But remember that: it’s of the world. As God reminds us in John 14:27,

Peace I leave with you; my peace I give you. I do not give to you as the world gives. Do not let your hearts be troubled and do not be afraid.

God gives us peace, the world gives us fear and anxiety.

And it’s hard to deal with that anxiety sometimes. I have an anxiety disorder. No, I can’t control the fact that it exists, but I can control how I let it affect me. That’s right, I said even though it’s a disorder, I can control how it affects me. And this control doesn’t necessarily come from anything I do on my own. It’s actually the lack of doing the controls my anxiety. When I let go and leave my anxiety in God’s hands, He does miraculous things in my life. Check out Colossians 3:15,

Let the peace of Christ rule in your hearts, since as members of one body you were called to peace. And be thankful.

Turn off the worry. Turn on the thankfulness. Let Christ bring you peace. And He will definitely be the only one to bring it. 2 Thessalonians 3:16 says, 

Now may the Lord of peace himself give you peace at all times and in every way. The Lord be with all of you.

 

The psalms give a vivid picture of throwing your anxiety away from you, like someone throwing horseshoes. Psalm 55:22 says,

Cast your cares on the LORD and he will sustain you; he will never let the righteous fall.

And always remember that God wants us to help ease the burdens of others. It’s important that we carry one another’s loads. Since we have anxiety, we can be sure that others have a problem with it too. Proverbs 12:25 reminds us,

An anxious heart weighs a man down, but a kind word cheers him up.

For more biblical encouragement for your anxiety and fearfulness, check out these passages: Philippians, 4:6-7, 1 Peter 5:6-8, Psalm 23:4, Hebrews 13:5-6, Psalm 56:3, Matthew 6:25-34, Luke 12:24-34, Matthew 11:28-30

Leave a comment