No more selfies.

Our culture has officially been infected by it. It’s everywhere. What is it, you ask?

The selfie epidemic.

It’s highly contagious and infects us quickly.

The whole point of a selfie is “Look at me and how pretty/handsome I am and maybe I don’t totally think so so I need you to compliment me to validate myself.” That is the manifestation of our sinful, selfish nature.

So I won’t be taking any more selfies. I may take pictures of myself with other people to remember moments. But as for just random pictures of myself, I shall no longer take them. 

You see, this is for a reason. I need to point others to Christ rather than myself. It’s not about what I want or how I feel in the moment. It’s about my job and my responsibility. So who’s with me?

That’s right. Who. Is. With. Me?

I wouldn’t try to trend this on Twitter, because frankly, no one would jump on board. But all it takes is a few.

A few that are willing to set themselves apart to be selfless for God. In every generation, there are the few.

Let each of you look not only to his own interests, but also to the interest of others.

Philippians 2:4

Leave a comment